Champhionship regulations

As implied by the name, the championship regulations have been kept wide open to encourage all types of sports racing cars (open and closed top) and to encourage engineering expertise and flair. Open regulations also help to keep costs down. All cars must however comply with MSA safety regulations.

The OSS format was devised with the club competitor in mind. The Championship is run over 14 rounds at 7 double header weekends. Race day format is 20 minutes free practice which allows competitors who can’t afford the time or cost of pre meeting testing to try new set ups before qualifying, then 15 minutes qualifying and two 20 minute races. Entry fees are very competitive on a cost per track time basis as with all other UK championships. Another unique feature of the OSS Championship is that competitors can share a car doing, 1 race each and still compete for the Championship as a pair, ideal to keep costs down.

Class Structure:

Class A : Over 2001cc
Class B : 1501cc to 2000 cc
Class C : 1301cc to 1500cc
Class D : 1001cc to 1300cc
Class E : Up to 1000

The Open Sportscar Series (OSS) was devised in 2009 as a home for all sports racing cars. At the time in the UK there were championships for motor cycle engined cars, and 2.0 litre sports cars with strict regulations but nothing for unrestricted sports racing cars, especially for cars running 2.0 Litre engines or higher. With plenty of cars sitting around in garages doing nothing, OSS was born to get these cars back out on to the tracks where they belong. Whilst primarily aimed at cars with over 2.0 litre engines and it was split in to 5 classes based on engine size to cater for all sports racing prototype cars. Such was the interest in 2009 that the BRSCC applied for championship status for 2010 which was granted.